Skip to content

Deprovisioning a User

Table of Contents

Deprovisioning a User

The status of a user’s account is either Active or Deprovisioned.  If an account is Active, users are able to login to Apporto.  If an acount is Deprovisioned, users are unable to login to Apporto – but the users’ profiles (files and configurations) are persisted until their accounts are deleted. 

Deprovisioned users are automatically deleted after a pre-defined time period (30 days by default).  You may change the number of days before deletion in the Deprovisioning screen in Settings. 

You may deprovision individual users or multiple users at once.  Both may be accomplished via the Users screen.

 

 

 

Deprovision a User
 

Deprovision a User
 

Using your preferred web browser, navigate to the URL for your Apporto system, for example, “mycollege.apporto.com”, and log in to the system using your credentials.

Click the Users  icon in the navigation panel.

The ‘Users’ screen displays.

The screen shows a list of all users for your Apporto instance.

Locate the user you want to edit.
Click the
Actions 
button for the desired user.
 

Click Edit

The ‘Edit user’ popup displays.

                         
 

Change the user’s Status to ‘Deprovisioned’.

Click Save to commit changes.

The Users screen refreshes to display your changes, and a success message shows at the top of the screen.

To confirm the status change, click Filter, enter the user’s name or email, and hit return.

When the screen refreshes, you will see the user’s account details.

In the ‘Status’ column, you will see a status of ‘Deprovisioning’.

Unless the user is reprovisioned, their account and profile will be permanently deleted after the deprovisioning window (30 days by default).

 

Deprovision Multiple Users
 

Deprovision Multiple Users

Click the Users  icon in the navigation panel.

The ‘Users’ screen displays.

Filter for the relevant group of users.  Or, sort by last login to identify users who have never logged in.

Check the checkboxes (or select all) next to the relevant users.

 

 

Click Update options

Click on the dropdown menu.

Scroll down and select ‘Deprovision selected users’.

Click Update

Since deprovisioning a large group of users may take several minutes, we recommend deprovisioning up to 10 users at a time.

When the process completes, the Users screen refreshes to display your changes, and a success message shows at the top of the screen.

To confirm the status changes, click Filter, enter the name of the group, and hit return.

When the screen refreshes, you will see a list of all users in the group.  In the ‘Status’ column, you will see ‘Deprovisioning’.

To see a list of all deprovisioned users, click Filter, enter ‘Deprovisioning’, and hit return.

 

 

Set the Number of Days to Deletion
 

Set the Number of Days to Deletion 

By default, deprovisioned accounts are deleted after 30 days.  You may change the default time period as follows. 

Click the Setup  icon in the navigation panel.

The ‘Setup’ menu displays.

 

 

 

Click Deprovisioning

The ‘Deprovisioning’ screen displays.

 

 

Enter the desired number of Days to deletion.

Click Apply to confirm the change.

The screen will refresh and a success message will display.