Skip to content

Using a Virtual Machine

Table of Contents

Using a Virtual Machine

If you have been granted access to a Persistent (“named”) Virtual Machine, the machine is dedicated to you.  You may install software and configure your environment, and the changes will be persisted.  

Note: Persistent Virtual Machines are not common, since it is expensive to allocate a machine to a single person.  Persistent VMs are typically used only if you need Administrative access to a machine to install software (eg. for computer software courses, cyber labs, etc.).

Special features associated with Persistent VMs include the ability to backup, restore, and reboot the VM.  This short guide will show you step by step how to:

 

 

 

Using a Virtual Machine

 

Backup a Virtual Machine

 

 

Before making any changes (installing software, etc.), it is common to backup a persistent Virtual Machine – just in case you may want to restore it later.

To backup a Virtual Machine, click on the Backup/Restore icon  in the menu bar.

The ‘Backup/Restore’ dialog displays.

 

Click Backup

A confirmation displays.

 

Click Backup again.

Note: This may take several minutes, and your session will temporarily disconnect.

When your Virtual Machine restarts, a ‘Reconnecting’ dialog will display.

Click Reconnect to reconnect your session.

Note: Backing up a VM is different from saving a snapshot.  Snapshots are specific to profile files (eg. homework, data, etc.).  Backups are images of your VM.

 

Note: You may take as many backups as you’d like, but only the most recent backup will be saved.  

Restore a Virtual Machine

 

Before making any changes (installing software, etc.), it is common to backup a persistent Virtual Machine – just in case you may want to restore it later.

To restore a Virtual Machine, click on the Backup/Restore icon  in the menu bar.

The ‘Backup/Restore’ dialog displays.

Click Restore

A confirmation displays.

Click Restore again.

Note: This may take several minutes (depending on how large the image is), and your session will temporarily disconnect.

When your Virtual Machine restarts, a ‘Reconnecting’ dialog will display.

Click Reconnect to reconnect your session.

Your desktop will be restored to the latest backed up image.

If you encounter any issues, please contact your administrator or email support@apporto.com.

 

Reboot a Virtual Machine

 

After installing software or configuring your environment, it may be necessary to reboot your machine.

To reboot a Virtual Machine, click on the reboot icon  in the menu bar.  This may take 1-2 minutes.

When your Virtual Machine restarts, a ‘Reconnecting’ dialog will display.

Click Reconnect to reconnect your session.