Skip to content

Creating and Managing Groups

Table of Contents

 

Creating and Managing Groups

Groups are useful for publishing (to limit access to particular apps or desktops), analytics, and collaboration features such as Messenger.

You may create Groups in Apporto via the Groups screen.  Then, users can be added to a group in one of two ways:

  • Passing a group attribute when users login via single sign-on (SSO).  During your SSO integration, attributes are mapped to Apporto groups.
  • Importing users via a CSV file and specificying group assignments.

For each group, you may optionally create a Shared Folder, specify the Storage Quota per user, and define Network Access Rules.

This short guide will show you step by step how to:

 

Manage Groups
 

Add Group
 

Using your preferred web browser, navigate to the URL for your Apporto system, for example, “mycompany.apporto.com”, and log in to the system using your Admin credentials.

Click the Groups  icon in the Navigation panel.

The ‘Groups’ screen displays.

                                    

The screen shows a list of all groups in your Apporto instance.

Click New

The ‘Add Group’ window displays.
                                     

Enter a Group Name (eg. “Math 101”).

By default each user is granted 10GB of storage, but you can increse or decrease this amount by entering a Storage Quota Per User for the group (up to a maximum of 30GB).

Check the Create Shared Folder checkbox if you’d want a shared folder to be created on the desktop.  Shared folders are accessible to all users in the group.  Faculty can place the syllabus, assignments, and other course materials in this folder for students to access.

Select a “parent” for the new group from the Select Parent menu.  By default, PROD (ie. production) is the parent group.  You may scroll to select another parent if desired.  You may create group hierarchies up to 8 levels deep.

Click Add group to add the new group to the database.  This may take several seconds.

The screen refreshes and a confirmation message shows at the top of the screen.
 

Edit a Group
 

From the Groups screen locate the group you want to edit.

Click the Actions  button for the desired group, then choose Edit.

The ‘Edit group’ screen displays.

                                    

 

Edit the group options as needed and click Update Group to save changes.

The screen refreshes to display your changes and a confirmation message shows at the top of the screen.

 

Add / Edit a Storage Quota
 

Click the STORAGE QUOTA PER USER field for the desired group or subgroup to place the cursor in the field.

Enter or edit the maximum amount of storage allowed (up to 30 Gigabytes maximum) for each user that is a member of the group or subgroup.

Click the cursor outside the STORAGE QUOTA PER USER field to complete the update.

A confirmation message displays.

 Storage quotas are inherited by subgroups, unless a different quota is specified for the subgroup.

 

Add / Edit a Shared Folder
 

Check the checkbox to create a shared folder for the group.  Shared folders appear on the desktop and are accessible to all users in the group.
 

Uncheck the box to remove the shared folder for the group.

 

Add a Network Access Rule

For security purposes (such as Zero Trust initiatives), you may wish to limit network access.  Network Access Rules allow you to control which IPs or IP ranges may be accessed by a group of users. 

Click + Add to add a new Network Access Rule.

Enter a name for the rule in the Description text box.

Enter the IP or IP range in the Allowed Destinations text box. 
 

Click Update Group to confirm changes.

  

Delete a Group
 

From the Groups screen locate the group you want to delete.

Click the Actions  button for the desired group, then choose Delete.

A confirmation dialog displays.

                           

Click Confirm to proceed with the deletion.

The screen refreshes to display your changes, and a confirmation message shows at the top of the screen.