Configuring Desktop Features
By default, all features in the Desktop/App are enabled. Features include File Upload, File Download, Screen Sharing, Analytics, Snapshots, and Messenger.
If a particular feature is not needed, you can disable it for all users or by group. When disabled, the feature is greyed out in the Desktop/App menu.
This short guide will show you step by step how to:
Enable/Disable a Feature
Using your preferred web browser, navigate to the URL for your Apporto system, for example, “mycollege.apporto.com”, and log in to the system using your Admin credentials.
Click the Feature Setting icon in Navigation panel.
The ‘Group Features’ screen displays.
The Select a group or user panel shows a hierarchical listing of groups and users.
Use the search function or expand arrows to locate the relevant group or user.
Click on the desired group or user to select it.
Locate the feature you wish to enable/disable for the selected group or user.
Click the “down arrow” on the STATUS / ACTION drop-down menu.
The STATUS / ACTION menu displays the available options (enable or disable).
To enable or disable the associated feature for the group or user click Enable or Disable.
If you enable/disable a feature for a parent group, like PROD, the change is inherited by all child groups.
If you launch the Desktop/App, all features enabled in the top menu panel appear normally and can be accessed by users. If a feature is disabled, the menu icon will appear greyed out.
For example, if you disable Screen Sharing to prevent collaboration or sharing of sensitive information, the screen sharing icon will be greyed out.
If the user tries to click on a disabled feature, they will see a 'Feature Disabled' message.