Creating and Managing Groups
 

 

You can add, edit and delete groups for your Apporto system. You can also create a shared folder for the group and specify the storage quota per user (maximum amount of storage allowed for each member of a group).

To add a new group:
 

  1. Using your preferred web browser, navigate to the URL for your Apporto system (e.g. mycollege.apporto.com) and log in to the system using your Admin credentials.
     
  2. Click the Groups  icon in the Navigation panel.
  • The Groups screen displays.

           

  • The screen shows a listing of all currently defined groups for your Apporto system.
     

      3. Click the New button.

  • The Add Group dialog displays.

          

      4. Enter a name for the group (“Math Lab” for example) in the text box.
 

      5. Enter a storage quota for each user in the group (up to a maximum of 30 GB).
 

      6. Check the checkbox to create a shared folder for the group.
 

      7. Choose a “parent” for the new group from the Select Parent menu.

  • The Select Parent menu lists all currently defined groups for your Apporto system.

    NOTE: The parent classification must be selected carefully as any subsequent actions of a parent group will be inherited by a child group.
     

      8. Click the Add group button to add the new group to the database.

  • The Add Group dialog closes, the Groups screen refreshes to display your changes, and a confirmation message shows at the top of the screen.
     

To edit an exiting group:
 

  1. Using your preferred web browser, navigate to the URL for your Apporto system (e.g. mycollege.apporto.com) and log in to the system using your Admin credentials to access the App Store.
     
  2. Click the Groups  icon in the Navigation panel.
    • The Groups screen displays.
       
    • The screen shows a listing of all currently defined groups for your Apporto system.
       
  3. Locate the group you wish to edit.
     
  4. Click the Operations button for the desired group, then choose Edit.
  • The Edit Group screen displays. The screen is filled with the current information for the selected group.

          

      5. Edit the group as appropriate, using the same general procedures as for adding a group.
 

      6. Click the Update Group button to save your changes.

  • The Edit Group screen closes, the Groups screen refreshes to display your changes, and the message “The Group has been Updated.” shows at the top of the Groups screen.
     

To add or edit a STORAGE QUOTA PER USER:
 

NOTE: Storage quotas are inherited by subgroups, unless a different quota is specified for the subgroup.

  • Click the STORAGE QUOTA PER USER field for the desired group or subgroup to place the cursor in the field.
     
  • Enter or edit the maximum amount of storage allowed (in gigabytes; 30 maximum) for each user that is a member of the group or subgroup.
     
  • Click the cursor outside the STORAGE QUOTA PER USER field to complete the update.
    • A confirmation message shows at the top of the screen.
       

To add or edit a SHARED FOLDER for a group:
 

  • Simply check the checkbox to create a shared folder for the group.
     
  • Uncheck the box to remove the shared folder for the group.


To delete an existing group:
 

  1. Using your preferred web browser, navigate to the URL for your Apporto system (e.g. mycollege.apporto.com) and log in to the system using your Admin credentials to access the App Store.
     
  2. Click the Groups  icon in the Navigation panel.
    • The Groups screen displays.
       
    • The screen shows a listing of all currently defined groups for your Apporto system.

  3. Locate the group you wish to delete.
     
  4. Click the Operations button for the desired group, then choose Delete.
  • A confirmation dialog displays the message “Do you really want to delete group(group name)? This action cannot be undone.”

         

      5. Click the Confirm button to complete the deletion. (Click the Cancel link to cancel the deletion and leave the group intact.)

  • The confirmation dialog closes automatically, the Groups screen refreshes to display your changes, and a “confirmation” message shows at the top of the screen.