Defining Roles
 

As an administrator, you may wish to delegate a limited set of permissions to a Sub-administrator, Faculty, or Tech Support.

This is accomplished by creating a role, defining the relevant permissions to groups and apps, and then assigning the newly created role to a particular user. 

You can also specify the STORAGE QUOTA (maximum amount of storage allowed) for each role.
 

This short guide will show you step by step how to:
 

Add a Role
 

Add Role
 

Using your preferred web browser, navigate to the URL for your Apporto system, for example, “mycollege.apporto.com”, and log in to the system using your Admin credentials.

Click the Roles icon in the Navigation panel.

The ‘Users’ screen displays.
 

                           
 

The screen shows a list of existing roles for your Apporto system.  

Click New

The ‘Add Apporto role’ dialog displays.
 

                           
 

Enter a name for the role in the Role name text box.

Select a Role Type from the menu: Sub-admin, Faculty, and Tech Support.
 

 Admins have permission to all groups and apps, so you do not need to define specific roles and permissions for Admins.
 

 Note the difference between a role type (ex. Faculty) and a role (ex. Biology Faculty).  Role types determine which product features are accessible to a user. Roles determine permissions to particular groups and ability to publish apps to those groups.
 

Select the Group(s) the role will have permissions for.  The user assigned this role will be able to impersonate users in selected groups and publish apps to these groups.
 

  • To assign the role to a single group, click the desired group.

  • To assign the role to multiple groups, press and hold the Ctrl key (Windows OS) or Cmd key (Mac OS), then click each desired group. The selected groups are highlighted. When all desired groups have been selected, release the Ctrl key (Windows OS) or Cmd key (Mac OS).

 

                           
 

Select the App(s) the role will have permissions for.  The user assigned this role will be able to publish selected apps to the groups they have permissions to.
 

  • To assign the role to a single app, click the desired app.

  • To assign the role to multiple apps, press and hold the Ctrl key (Windows OS) or Cmd key (Mac OS), then click each desired app. When all desired apps have been selected, release the Ctrl key (Windows OS) or Cmd key (Mac OS).
     

Click Add role
 

A confirmation message shows at the top of the screen when the role has been successfully added to the database and the role is now available for assignment to the desired user(s).
 

Add/Edit Storage Quota
 

Click the STORAGE QUOTA field for the desired role to place the cursor in the field.

Enter or edit the maximum amount of storage allowed (in megabytes; 30 maximum) for the role.

Click the cursor outside the STORAGE QUOTA field to complete the update.

A confirmation message shows at the top of the screen.
 

Assign a Role to a User
 

Assign Role

 

Once you’ve defined a new role you can assign it to the relevant user(s) in the Users screen.  

Click the Users icon in the navigation panel.

The ‘Users’ screen displays.

Locate the user you want to edit.

Click the Operations button for the desired user, then click Edit.

The ‘Edit user’ popup displays.  Scroll down to Role Type.

Select the desired Role Type for the user by checking the relevant checkbox.  If no role type is selected, the user will be an End User by default.

 

                           
 

If the Subadmin, Faculty or Tech Support check box is selected, a ‘Role Name’ menu displays.
 

  • To select a single role, click the desired role.

  • To select multiple roles:

    • Press and hold the Ctrl key (Windows OS) or Cmd key (Mac OS).

    • Click each desired role.

    • When all desired roles have been selected, release the Ctrl key (Windows OS) or Cmd key (Mac OS).
       

Click Save to commit changes.

The Edit User screen closes, the Users screen refreshes to display your changes, and the message “The changes have been saved” shows at the top of the Users scre